NIU day for Dad

NIU by Vikings at SM Aura is one of the popular buffets in town because of the unlimited drinks and wine that comes with the buffet. What’s exciting is that they’ve just adopted the birthday promo!

image

You can check out their rates and promotional fine print here – NIU rates and promotions.

Quick tip – when parking at SM Aura, choose the supermarket side and use the express elevator that goes directly to the 6th floor. I wish we’d known that prior to getting there. We ended up parking at the other side and walking to the supermarket side.

We had initially planned to have my dad’s birthday festivities over the weekend because we had work and the daily grind getting in the way. I just thought that making him feel special on the day of his birthday by taking him out on a dinner date is also important and also should be on top of the to-do list.

We didn’t have reservations but since it was a weekday dinner, we were seated in less than 5 minutes.

image

image

image

image

First thing we tried was the beef carving station and the foie gras sauce. It was a must on most foodie blogs I read and they were right on the money. The whole thing just melts in your mouth like nothing I’ve ever imagined

image

Binusog na lechon was also in the contents of my first plate. I specifically asked for the skin and they gave me a hefty sized one. What’s funny is that we couldn’t find rice but we found this first so this was like the rice to my main course.
image

image

image

image

image

Then it was a battle in my mind over Japanese fare and Dimsum. Of course Dimsum won because I can’t get enough hakaw to last a lifetime. I also checked out they xiao long bao because it looked delicious and lonely in its tiny black plate.

image

I was pretty full after that. But this buffet is expensive so I thought I’d try shabu shabu for the first time. I picked seafood, thick udon noodles and chicken based broth with some greens. I didn’t think it was going to be a giant bowl/pot served on a mini stove so I wasn’t able to eat all that.

image

The dessert selections were to die for! I chose everything chocolate, creme brulee, and a pavlova with brewed coffee (no sugar). Then … one scoop of pistachio ice cream.

image

image

image

image

Since NIU is pretty much popular because of its unlimited wine at a lower price than most luxury buffets in town. I couldn’t leave without having a sip. I noticed their wines are mostly 2014 dry to semi-sweet. I wish I had a beer instead. I want to take their beer freezer home.

image

image

image

There you go, that’s how my NIU luxury buffet experience went. The great thing about it is that because it was my dad’s birthday, we paid only for 1 person. He’s one who loves a good deal so he was quite happy about the 50% discount. I’m happy he had this ear to ear smile because we spent time together on his birthday. That’s something I need to do more with my dad – more so now that I’m a parent myself. *sniff*

Happy birthday Dad!

Leave a Reply

